- Design New headlights replacing the boomerang-shaped units, a revised front bumper and new tail-light graphics.[1]
- Interior New two-spoke steering wheel and a new curved display housing the instrument cluster and 12.3-inch touchscreen.[1]
- Powertrain The 7-speed dual-clutch on the 1.6 T-GDi was replaced by an 8-speed automatic.[1]
- Chassis Revised front-axle damping and additional sound-absorbing material.[1]
Kia Sportage · Fifth generation · production 2021–present
Kia Sportage (NQ5)
Key facts
| Production | 2021[1] – present |
|---|---|
| First shown | 8 June 2021[1] |
| Sales start | 4 November 2021 (Australia)[1] 8 June 2022 (Taiwan)[1] 1 July 2022 (Brazil)[1] 14 March 2023 (Mexico)[1] |
| Model years | 2023–present (North America)[1] |
| Codes | NQ5 model code[1] |
| Names by market | Not documented here |
| Platform | Hyundai-Kia N3[2] |
| Assembly | Gwangju, South Korea[1] Žilina, Slovakia (Kia Slovakia)[1] West Point, Georgia, United States (KMMG)[1] Bryan County, Georgia, United States (HMG Metaplant America, from 2026)[1] Yancheng, China (Yueda Kia)[1] Karachi, Pakistan (Kia Lucky Motors)[1] Kulim, Kedah, Malaysia (Inokom)[1] Kaliningrad, Russia (Avtotor)[1] Chu Lai, Vietnam (THACO Kia)[1] Sreepur Upazila, Gazipur, Bangladesh (Meghna Group)[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV, short wheelbase (SWB) — Europe[3] 5-door SUV, long wheelbase (LWB) — South Korea, North America[3] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive — Europe[2] All-wheel drive — Europe[2] |
Photos
What changed from the QL
- Dimensions Developed in two versions with different body length and wheelbase depending on the market.[1]
- Chassis Built on the new N3 platform.[2]
- Powertrain The first hybrid in the Sportage series.[3]
- Powertrain A plug-in hybrid was offered in Europe for the first time.[2]
- Technology A Terrain Mode was introduced.[2]
- Interior In Europe, luggage space grew to up to 591 litres from a maximum of 503 litres in the predecessor.[4]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Europe | short wheelbase, pre-facelift | 4,515 mm (177.8 in) | 1,865 mm (73.4 in) | 1,645 mm (64.8 in) | 2,680 mm (105.5 in) | [2] |
| Market not stated | long wheelbase | 4,660 mm (183.5 in) | 1,865 mm (73.4 in) | — | 2,755 mm (108.5 in) | [1] |
| Market not stated | Kia heritage archive figures (body not stated) | 4,685 mm (184.4 in) | 1,865 mm (73.4 in) | 1,660 mm (65.4 in) | — | [5] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Europe | petrol and diesel, short wheelbase | 2nd row | 591 L | VDA | [2] |
| Europe | short wheelbase | 1st row (rear seats folded) | 1,780 L | not stated | [2] |
VDA (ISO 3832) fills the space with 1-litre blocks; it usually gives smaller figures than SAE. The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.6 T-GDI MHEV 150 PS | Europe | Mild hybrid | 1.6-litre T-GDI mild hybrid (MHEV) | 150 PS (110 kW) | — | 6-speed iMT or 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [2] |
| 1.6 T-GDI MHEV 180 PS | Europe | Mild hybrid | 1.6-litre T-GDI mild hybrid (MHEV) | 180 PS (132 kW) | — | 6-speed iMT or 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [2] |
| 1.6 T-GDI Hybrid | Europe | Hybrid | 1.6 T-GDI with 44.2 kW motor and 1.49 kWh battery | 230 PS (169 kW) | — | 6-speed automatic | — | — | [2] |
| 1.6 T-GDI Plug-in Hybrid | Europe | Plug-in hybrid | 1.6 T-GDI with 66.9 kW motor and 13.8 kWh battery | 265 PS (195 kW) | — | 6-speed automatic | AWD | — | [2] |
| 1.6 diesel 115 PS | Europe | Diesel | 1.6-litre diesel | 115 PS (85 kW) | — | — | — | — | [2] |
| 1.6 diesel MHEV 136 PS | Europe | Mild hybrid | 1.6-litre diesel mild hybrid (MHEV) | 136 PS (100 kW) | — | — | — | — | [2] |
| Smartstream G2.0 MPi | Market not stated | Petrol | 1,999 cc I4 | 156 PS (115 kW) | 192 Nm (142 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual or 6-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| Smartstream G2.0 T-GDi | Market not stated | Petrol | 1,975 cc I4 | 236 PS (174 kW) | 353 Nm (260 lb-ft) | 8-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| Smartstream G2.5 GDi | Market not stated | Petrol | 2,497 cc I4 | 190 PS (140 kW) | 245 Nm (181 lb-ft) | 8-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| Smartstream L2.0 LPi | Market not stated | LPG | 1,999 cc I4 | 146 PS (107 kW) | 191 Nm (141 lb-ft) | 6-speed automatic | — | 2022– | [1] |
| Smartstream D2.0 CRDi | Market not stated | Diesel | 1,998 cc turbocharged I4 | 186 PS (137 kW) | 417 Nm (308 lb-ft) | 8-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| Hybrid (North America) | North America | Hybrid | 1.6 T-GDi with 44.2 kW electric motor and 1.49 kWh battery | 226 hp (169 kW) | — | — | — | — | [1] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Two bodies: a short-wheelbase (2,680 mm) version for Europe and some other markets (Brazil, South Africa per Wikipedia) and a long-wheelbase (2,755 mm) version for Korea, North America and most other markets. Kia Europe gives 1,645 mm height for the European car; Kia Austria's press kit gives 1,650 mm.
- Kia's heritage archive lists the 'All-New Sportage' at 4,685 mm long, which differs from Wikipedia's 4,660 mm LWB length; the heritage page does not say which body or model year it describes.
- Wikipedia dates the facelift's release to 5 November 2024 for the 2026 model year without naming a market; it reached North America and Australia in May 2025. Kia's heritage story says the facelift came in 2024 alongside a 30th anniversary edition.
- North American specifications come from Wikipedia only.
- Wikipedia's powertrain table does not name markets for most engines (e.g. 2.5 GDi for North America/Mexico, L2.0 LPi for Korea), so they are recorded as 'unstated'.
Sources
- Kia Sportage — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- All-new Kia Sportage – a compelling SUV tailor made for Europe — Kia Europe press, 6 December 2021 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Shaping the Sportage | The Evolution of an Urban SUV — Kia Corporation Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Pressemappe Kia Sportage — Kia Austria press Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- The All-New Sportage | Kia Heritage Archive — Kia Corporation Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.