T30 → T31
Nissan X-Trail (T30) (2000–2007) compared with its successor, the Nissan X-Trail (T31) (2007–2013).
Changes stated by the sources
- Chassis Slightly larger than the T30 and based on the Renault–Nissan C platform.[1]
- Dimensions Overall length grew by 17.5 cm to 4.63 m, with a nearly unchanged wheelbase.[2]
- Dimensions Cargo area enlarged, thanks to relocated rear shock absorbers, to 603 litres (VDA).[3]
- Interior Front headroom increased by 6 mm and knee room by 24 mm.[3]
- Technology Hill Descent Control and Hill Start Assist were added.[3]
- Design A-pillar obstruction angle reduced by 1.2 degrees.[3]
Size
Length 4,455 → 4,630 mm (+175 mm); Width 1,765 → 1,796 mm (+31 mm); Height 1,675 → 1,689 mm (+14 mm); Wheelbase 2,625 → 2,629 mm (+4 mm).
market not stated figures (neither source states the market): as published[2] against pre-facelift, 2WD[1].
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Documented for the T30 but not the T31: hydrogen fuel cell.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Nissan X-Trail (T30) First generation X-Trail | Nissan X-Trail (T31) Second generation X-Trail |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2000–2007[1] | 2007–2013[1] |
| First shown | September 2000[1] | March 2007[4] |
| Model years | 2005–2006 (CA)[1] | Not documented here |
| Codes | T30[1] | T31[1] |
| Platform | Nissan MS (M&S / FF-S) platform[1] | Renault–Nissan C platform[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[1] | 5-door SUV[1] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | FWD[2], AWD[1] | AWD[3] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel, Hydrogen fuel cell | Petrol, Diesel |
| Dimensions — market not stated (the sources do not state the market for any of these figures) | ||
| Version compared | as published[2] | pre-facelift, 2WD[1] |
| Length | 4,455 mm | 4,630 mm (+175 mm) |
| Width | 1,765 mm | 1,796 mm (+31 mm) |
| Height | 1,675 mm | 1,689 mm (+14 mm) |
| Wheelbase | 2,625 mm | 2,629 mm (+4 mm) |
| Luggage capacity | Not documented here | 603 L behind 2nd row, Japan, VDA[3] |
| Highest output documented | 280 PS (206 kW) X-Trail GT (SR20VET), Japan[1] | 177 PS (130 kW) 2.0 dCi 177, market not stated[1] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- Nissan X-Trail — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan X-Trail — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan Announces All-New Second Generation X-TRAIL SUV — Nissan Global Newsroom, 22 August 2007 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan launches all-new X-TRAIL in China — Nissan Global Newsroom, 3 November 2008 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.