What changed? · Honda CR-V
RD4 → RE1
Honda CR-V (RD4) (2001–2006) compared with its successor, the Honda CR-V (RE1) (2006–2012).
Changes stated by the sources
- Design An easier-to-open top-hinged tailgate replaced the side-hinged tailgate.[1]
- Dimensions Body length 3.1 inches shorter.[2]
- Powertrain Engine output rose by 10 hp to 166 hp, with 161 lb-ft of torque.[2]
- Powertrain For the first time, every CR-V had an automatic transmission.[1]
- Drivetrain Real Time AWD sends 20 percent more torque to the rear wheels.[1]
- Safety equipment Advanced Compatibility Engineering (ACE) body structure.[1]
Side by side
| Item | Honda CR-V (RD4) Second generation | Honda CR-V (RE1) Third generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2001–2006[3] | 2006–2012[4] |
| First shown | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Model years | 2002–2006 (US)[1] | 2007–2011 (US)[4] |
| Codes | RD4[3], RD5[3], RD6[3], RD7[3], RD8[3], RD9[3] | RE1[4], RE2[4], RE3[4], RE4[4], RE5[4], RE6[4], RE7[4] |
| Platform | Honda Global Compact Platform[1] | Not documented here |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[3] | 5-door SUV[4] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Not documented here | AWD[5] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel | Petrol, Diesel |
| Dimensions | ||
| Not compared | These generations have no dimension figures for the same market and body, so they are not set side by side. Each generation page lists its figures by market. | |
| Luggage capacity | 72.0 cu ft (2,039 L converted) behind unstated, market not stated, not stated[3] | 35.7 cu ft (1,011 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, 2011 model year[5] 72.9 cu ft (2,064 L converted) behind 1st row, United States, not stated, 2011 model year[5] |
| Highest output documented | 160 hp (119 kW) 2.4 i-VTEC (US), United States[1] | 180 hp (134 kW) 2.4 i-VTEC (US, 2011), United States[5] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- Honda CR-V Timeline and Milestones — Honda News (American Honda) Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New for 2007 Honda CR-V — Honda News (American Honda), 2 September 2006 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V (third generation) — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- 2011 Honda CR-V Specifications — Honda News (American Honda), 2 October 2010 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.