- Design New front grille, cylindrical headlights and a more aerodynamic front.[4]
- Powertrain A five-speed automatic transmission became standard for the 2005 model.[4]
- Safety equipment Front side airbags, side curtain airbags and Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) with traction control became standard.[1]
- Drivetrain A new cam-driven mechanism for the Real Time all-wheel-drive system replaced the previous one.[4]
Honda CR-V · Second generation · production 2001–2006
Honda CR-V (RD4)
Key facts
| Production | 2001[3] – 2006[3] |
|---|---|
| First shown | Not documented here |
| Sales start | 13 November 2001 (market not stated)[3] 1 January 2002 (Australia)[3] |
| Model years | 2002–2006 (United States)[1] |
| Codes | RD4 model code[3], RD5 model code[3], RD6 model code[3], RD7 model code[3], RD8 model code[3], RD9 model code[3] |
| Names by market | Not documented here |
| Platform | Honda Global Compact Platform[1] |
| Assembly | Sayama, Saitama, Japan[3] Swindon, UK[3] Dongfeng Honda, Wuhan, China[3] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[3] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Not documented here |
Photos
What changed from the RD1
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | — | — | 1,785 mm (70.3 in) | — | — | [3] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | — | unstated | 72.0 cu ft (2,039 L converted) | not stated | [3] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.4 i-VTEC (US) | United States | Petrol | 2.4 L DOHC i-VTEC I4 | 160 hp (119 kW) | 162 lb-ft (220 Nm) | — | — | 2002–2004 (model years) | [1] |
| 2.0 (K20A4) | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L K20A4 I4 | 150 hp (112 kW) | 140 lb-ft (190 Nm) | — | — | — | [3] |
| 2.2 diesel (N22A2) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.2 L N22A2 I4 turbo-diesel | 138 hp (103 kW) | 250 lb-ft (339 Nm) | — | AWD | — | [3] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Market of the 13 November 2001 sales start is not stated by Wikipedia (Japan is likely but not sourced).
- Only width is recorded: Wikipedia gives ranges for length and wheelbase, and no American Honda specification sheet for 2002–2006 is cited.
- 2.4 output was re-rated to 156 hp under SAE J1349 rev. 8/04 for 2006 (Wikipedia; American Honda timeline notes the re-rating).
Sources
- Honda CR-V Timeline and Milestones — Honda News (American Honda) Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda Celebrates 30th Anniversary of CR-V — Honda Motor Co., Ltd., 9 October 2025 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- The Honda CR-V Returns for 2005 — Honda News (American Honda), 2 September 2004 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.