Hyundai Tucson · First generation · production 2004–2009
Hyundai Tucson (JM)
Key facts
| Production | 2004[1] – 2009[1] |
|---|---|
| First shown | Not documented here |
| Model years | 2005–2009 (market not stated)[1] |
| Codes | JM model code[1] |
| Names by market | Hyundai JM (Japan)[1] |
| Platform | Hyundai Elantra-based platform (shared with the second-generation Kia Sportage)[1] |
| Assembly | Ulsan, South Korea[1] Beijing, China (Beijing Hyundai)[1] Chennai, India (Hyundai India)[1] Anápolis, Brazil (Hyundai Caoa)[1] Cairo, Egypt (Ghabbour Group)[1] Cherkasy, Ukraine (Bogdan)[1] Hukou, Hsinchu, Taiwan (SYM Motors)[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[1] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive — market not stated[1] All-wheel drive — market not stated[1] |
Photos
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | — | 4,325 mm (170.3 in) | 1,795 mm (70.7 in) | 1,730 mm (68.1 in) | 2,630 mm (103.5 in) | [1] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta II 2.0 | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L Beta II DOHC CVVT I4 | 142 PS (104 kW) | 184 Nm (136 lb-ft) | 5-speed manual | — | 2004–2009 | [1] |
| Delta 2.7 V6 | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.7 L Delta DOHC CVVT V6 | 175 PS (129 kW) | 241 Nm (178 lb-ft) | 4-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| D 2.0 CRDi (113 PS) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L D CRDi-VGT I4 | 113 PS (83 kW) | 245 Nm (181 lb-ft) | 5-speed manual | — | 2004–2009 | [1] |
| D 2.0 CRDi (140 PS) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L D CRDi-VGT I4 | 140 PS (103 kW) | 305 Nm (225 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | 2006–2009 | [1] |
| D 2.0 CRDi (150 PS) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L D CRDi-VGT I4 | 150 PS (110 kW) | 305 Nm (225 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | 2006–2009 | [1] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Wikipedia gives general production as 2004–2009, with local production continuing in Brazil (2005–2019), Taiwan (2005–2010) and Ukraine (2007–2010).
- Wikipedia's powertrain table gives no market for each engine; in the U.S. the GL used the 2.0-litre four-cylinder and the GLS/Limited the 2.7-litre V6.
- A China-only facelift built by Beijing Hyundai is mentioned by Wikipedia without dates; it is not recorded as a revision.
- The Tucson FCEV (2005 Los Angeles Auto Show) was a fuel-cell test vehicle and is not recorded as a production powertrain.
- No Hyundai source is cited for this generation.
Sources
- Hyundai Tucson — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.