- Design In South Korea the facelift brought a new grille, projector headlights, tail lights, round fog lights and front bumper.[1]
- Design In Europe only the headlights and tail lights were changed; North America and Australia kept the earlier styling with new headlights.[1]
- Powertrain For the 2014 model year, direct-injection Theta II engines were introduced.[1]
Hyundai Tucson · Second generation · production 2009–2015
Hyundai Tucson (LM)
Key facts
| Production | 2009[1] – 2015[1] |
|---|---|
| First shown | 2009, Frankfurt Motor Show[1] |
| Model years | 2010–2015 (market not stated)[1] |
| Codes | LM model code[1] |
| Names by market | Hyundai ix35 (Europe, Australia, China)[1] Hyundai Tucson ix (South Korea)[1] Tucson (North America)[1] |
| Platform | Not documented here |
| Assembly | Ulsan, South Korea[1] Nošovice, Czech Republic (HMMC)[1] Žilina, Slovakia (Kia Motors Slovakia)[1] Beijing, China (Beijing Hyundai)[1] Anápolis, Brazil (Hyundai Caoa)[1] Hukou, Hsinchu, Taiwan (SYM Motors)[1] Bekasi, Indonesia (HIM)[1] Kulim, Kedah, Malaysia (Inokom)[1] Cairo, Egypt (Ghabbour Group)[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[1] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive — South Korea[1] All-wheel drive — South Korea[1] All-wheel drive — United States[1] |
Photos
What changed from the JM
- Powertrain The 2.4-litre four-cylinder made almost the same power as the previous V6, with 20% better fuel economy than the previous four-cylinder.[1]
- Design Styling was reported to be based on the Hyundai ix-onic concept.[1]
- Other Outside South Korea and North America the name changed to ix35 in most markets.[1]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | — | 4,410 mm (173.6 in) | 1,820 mm (71.7 in) | — | 2,640 mm (103.9 in) | [1] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | — | 2nd row | 465 L | not stated | [1] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gamma II 1.6 GDi | Europe | Petrol | 1.6 L Gamma GDi I4 | 135 PS (99 kW) | 164 Nm (121 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | 2009–2015 | [1] |
| Theta II 2.0 MPi | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L Theta II MPi I4 | 166 PS (122 kW) | 197 Nm (145 lb-ft) | 5-speed manual or 6-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| Nu 2.0 GDi | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L Nu GDi I4 | 166 PS (122 kW) | 205 Nm (151 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual or 6-speed automatic | — | 2013–2015 | [1] |
| Theta II 2.4 MPi | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.4 L Theta II MPi I4 | 177 PS (130 kW) | 227 Nm (167 lb-ft) | 6-speed automatic | — | 2009–2015 | [1] |
| U II 1.7 CRDi | Europe | Diesel | 1.7 L U II CRDi-VGT I4 | 116 PS (85 kW) | 260 Nm (192 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | 2009–2015 | [1] |
| R II 2.0 CRDi (136 PS) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L R II CRDi-VGT I4 | 136 PS (100 kW) | 314 Nm (232 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | — | [1] |
| R II 2.0 CRDi (184 PS, manual) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L R II CRDi-VGT I4 | 184 PS (135 kW) | 392 Nm (289 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | — | [1] |
| R II 2.0 CRDi (184 PS, automatic) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L R II CRDi-VGT I4 | — | 382 Nm (282 lb-ft) | 6-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| 2.0 (North America) | North America | Petrol | 2.0-litre four-cylinder | 165 hp (123 kW) | — | 6-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| 2.4 (North America) | North America | Petrol | 2.4-litre four-cylinder | 176 hp (131 kW) | — | 6-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Wikipedia gives a height range of 1,655–1,685 mm, so height is not recorded as a single value.
- The 465-litre luggage figure comes from the third-generation section of Wikipedia, which states the TL's seats-up capacity grew 'from 465 to 513 litres'; market and standard are not stated.
- The facelift was applied differently by market (full restyle in Korea and China, lights only in Europe/North America/Australia, and a separate Indonesian facelift in April 2014).
- Brazil continued local production until 2022 according to Wikipedia; the China-only successor 'ix35 (NU)' is a separate model not covered here.
- No Hyundai source is cited for this generation.
Sources
- Hyundai Tucson — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.