T31 → T32
Nissan X-Trail (T31) (2007–2013) compared with its successor, the Nissan X-Trail / Rogue (T32) (2013–2022).
Changes stated by the sources
- Chassis Moved to the new CMF-CD platform, as a common successor to the X-Trail T31 and the Rogue S35.[1]
- Design The rugged, squared-off lines of the previous X-Trail were dropped for a new design.[2]
- Weight A largely plastic tailgate saves 7 kg, part of weight savings made although the vehicle has a larger surface area.[2]
- Dimensions A longer wheelbase gives more second-row knee room.[2]
- Interior Three-row, seven-seat versions were added alongside the two-row, five-seat versions.[3]
- Technology Active Ride Control and Active Engine Brake were introduced.[4]
Size
Length 4,630 → 4,641 mm (+11 mm); Width 1,796 → 1,821 mm (+25 mm); Height 1,689 → 1,709 mm (+20 mm); Wheelbase 2,629 → 2,705 mm (+76 mm).
market not stated figures (neither source states the market): pre-facelift, 2WD[1] against Rogue (Wikipedia Rogue article)[5].
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the T32 but not the T31: hybrid.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Nissan X-Trail (T31) Second generation X-Trail | Nissan X-Trail / Rogue (T32) Third generation X-Trail / second generation Rogue |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2007–2013[1] | 2013–2022[1] |
| First shown | March 2007[6] | September 2013[2] |
| Model years | Not documented here | 2014–2020 (NA)[5] |
| Codes | T31[1] | T32[1] |
| Platform | Renault–Nissan C platform[1] | Renault–Nissan CMF (Common Module Family)[2] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[1] | 5-door SUV[1] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | AWD[7] | FWD[2], AWD[2], FWD[8], AWD[8] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel | Petrol, Diesel, Hybrid |
| Dimensions — market not stated (the sources do not state the market for any of these figures) | ||
| Version compared | pre-facelift, 2WD[1] | Rogue (Wikipedia Rogue article)[5] |
| Length | 4,630 mm | 4,641 mm (+11 mm) |
| Width | 1,796 mm | 1,821 mm (+25 mm) |
| Height | 1,689 mm | 1,709 mm (+20 mm) |
| Wheelbase | 2,629 mm | 2,705 mm (+76 mm) |
| Luggage capacity | 603 L behind 2nd row, Japan, VDA[7] | 550 L behind unstated, Japan, not stated[3] 565 L behind unstated, Europe, not stated, facelift (2017)[9] |
| Highest output documented | 177 PS (130 kW) 2.0 dCi 177, market not stated[1] | 176 hp (131 kW) Rogue Hybrid, United States[5] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- Nissan X-Trail — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- New Nissan X-Trail (Frankfurt Motor Show 2013) — Nissan Global Newsroom, 9 September 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan Releases All-New X-Trail in December — Nissan Global Newsroom, 24 October 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New Nissan X-Trail on Sale in Japan in December — Nissan Global Newsroom, 11 December 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan Rogue — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan launches all-new X-TRAIL in China — Nissan Global Newsroom, 3 November 2008 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan Announces All-New Second Generation X-TRAIL SUV — Nissan Global Newsroom, 22 August 2007 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-new 2014 Nissan Rogue debuts — Nissan Global Newsroom, 10 September 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan X-Trail — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.