- Design Larger grille, wider chrome surround and square fog lamps; revised rear bumper and LED tail lights.[7]
- Dimensions Boot volume rose by 15 litres to 565 litres.[7]
- Design The Rogue was facelifted for the 2017 model year with restyled headlights and tail lights and standard LED daytime running lights.[6]
Nissan X-Trail and Rogue · Third generation X-Trail / second generation Rogue · production 2013–2022
Nissan X-Trail / Rogue (T32)
Key facts
| Production | 2013[1] – 2022[1] |
|---|---|
| First shown | September 2013, Frankfurt Motor Show[2] |
| Sales start | November 2013 (United States)[6] 16 December 2013 (Japan)[4] March 2014 (China)[1] March 2014 (Australia)[1] July 2014 (Europe)[1] |
| Model years | 2014–2020 (North America)[6] |
| Codes | T32 model code[1] |
| Names by market | X-Trail (Europe)[5] X-Trail (Japan)[4] Rogue (United States, Canada)[6] X-Trail Honor (China)[1] X-Trail Classic (China)[1] |
| Platform | Renault–Nissan CMF (Common Module Family)[2] |
| Assembly | Kanda, Fukuoka, Japan (Nissan Motor Kyushu)[4] Smyrna, Tennessee, United States (Rogue)[5] Busan, South Korea (Renault Samsung Motors, Rogue)[6] Dalian and Zhengzhou, China (Dongfeng Nissan)[1] Saint Petersburg, Russia[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[1] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive[2] All-wheel drive (ALL MODE 4x4i)[2] Front-wheel drive — United States[5] All-wheel drive (Intuitive All-Wheel Drive) — United States[5] |
Photos
What changed from the T31
- Chassis Moved to the new CMF-CD platform, as a common successor to the X-Trail T31 and the Rogue S35.[1]
- Design The rugged, squared-off lines of the previous X-Trail were dropped for a new design.[2]
- Weight A largely plastic tailgate saves 7 kg, part of weight savings made although the vehicle has a larger surface area.[2]
- Dimensions A longer wheelbase gives more second-row knee room.[2]
- Interior Three-row, seven-seat versions were added alongside the two-row, five-seat versions.[3]
- Technology Active Ride Control and Active Engine Brake were introduced.[4]
What changed from the S35
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | Rogue (Wikipedia Rogue article) | 182.7 in (4,641 mm) | 71.7 in (1,821 mm) | 67.3 in (1,709 mm) | 106.5 in (2,705 mm) | [6] |
| Market not stated | X-Trail | — | — | — | 2,705 mm (106.5 in) | [1] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japan | — | unstated | 550 L | not stated | [3] |
| Europe | facelift (2017) | unstated | 565 L | not stated | [7] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5 (QR25DE) | United States | Petrol | 2.5 L QR25DE I4 | 170 hp (127 kW) | 175 lb-ft (237 Nm) | Xtronic CVT | — | 2014 model year | [5] |
| Rogue Hybrid | United States | Hybrid | 2.0 L I4 + electric motor (40 hp), lithium-ion battery | 176 hp (131 kW) | — | Xtronic CVT | — | 2017–2019 model years | [6] |
| MR20DD 2.0 | Japan | Petrol | 2.0 L MR20DD direct-injection I4 | — | — | XTRONIC CVT | — | — | [4] |
| 1.6 dCi | Europe | Diesel | 1.6 L turbo-diesel I4 | 96 kW (131 PS) | 320 Nm (236 lb-ft) | — | — | 07/2014–08/2018 | [7] |
| 1.6 DIG-T | Europe | Petrol | 1.6 L turbo I4 | 120 kW (163 PS) | 240 Nm (177 lb-ft) | — | — | — | [7] |
| 1.3 DIG-T | Europe | Petrol | 1.3 L turbo I4 | 116 kW (158 PS) | 270 Nm (199 lb-ft) | 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [7] |
| 1.7 dCi | Europe | Diesel | 1.7 L turbo-diesel I4 | 110 kW (150 PS) | 340 Nm (251 lb-ft) | — | — | — | [7] |
| 2.0 dCi | Europe | Diesel | 2.0 L turbo-diesel I4 | 130 kW (177 PS) | 380 Nm (280 lb-ft) | — | — | — | [7] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- First generation sold as both X-Trail and (in the US and Canada) Rogue. Specifications differ by market: the US Rogue used the 2.5 QR25DE (170 hp) and, for 2017–2019, a hybrid; the European X-Trail used 1.3/1.6 petrol and 1.6/1.7/2.0 diesel engines; the Japanese X-Trail used the 2.0 MR20DD (and later a hybrid). Records are kept separate by market.
- Ordinal 3 is the X-Trail count; for the Rogue line this is the second generation.
- Production end 2022 is from Wikipedia's X-Trail infobox; the Rogue T32 ended with the 2020 model year, and Dongfeng Nissan continued building the T32 in China as the X-Trail Honor (2021–2023) and X-Trail Classic (2023–).
- Rogue third-row seating was dropped for the 2018 model year (Wikipedia: 'For the 2018 model year, Nissan decided to drop the third row option').
- Dimensions: only Wikipedia infobox figures are available (Rogue article: 182.7 in long; the X-Trail article gives ranges of 4,640–4,690 mm, so only the wheelbase is recorded for the X-Trail). No Nissan dimension sheet is cited.
- Seating: 5- and 7-seat versions are documented in words by Nissan ("two-row five-passenger grades, three-row seven-passenger grades"), but no quotable digits were found, so the seating field is left empty.
- The 2017 facelift dates differ: European facelift September 2017 (German Wikipedia), 2017 model year in North America (Rogue), October 2016 per English Wikipedia's X-Trail article. English Wikipedia's X-Trail facelift paragraph appears to reuse North American Rogue text (S/SV/SL trims, Divide-N-Hide) and was not used for X-Trail facts.
- The European powertrain records come from German Wikipedia's specification table (1.3 DIG-T, 1.6 DIG-T, 1.6 dCi, 1.7 dCi and 2.0 dCi).
Sources
- Nissan X-Trail — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- New Nissan X-Trail (Frankfurt Motor Show 2013) — Nissan Global Newsroom, 9 September 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan Releases All-New X-Trail in December — Nissan Global Newsroom, 24 October 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New Nissan X-Trail on Sale in Japan in December — Nissan Global Newsroom, 11 December 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-new 2014 Nissan Rogue debuts — Nissan Global Newsroom, 10 September 2013 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan Rogue — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Nissan X-Trail — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.