What changed? · Porsche Cayenne
E3 → E4
Porsche Cayenne (E3) (2017–present) compared with its successor, the Porsche Cayenne Electric (E4) (2026–present).
Changes stated by the sources
- Powertrain It complements the existing combustion-engined and plug-in hybrid Cayenne models.[1]
- Dimensions 55 mm longer than the combustion-engined Cayenne.[1]
- Dimensions Wheelbase almost 13 cm longer, giving more rear legroom.[1]
- Other Built on the Premium Platform Electric (PPE), shared with the second-generation Macan.[2]
- Technology First Porsche available with optional inductive charging (up to 11 kW).[1]
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the E4 but not the E3: electric.
- Powertrain Documented for the E3 but not the E4: petrol and plug-in hybrid.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Porsche Cayenne (E3) Third generation | Porsche Cayenne Electric (E4) Fourth generation (Cayenne Electric) |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2017–present[2] | 2026–present[2] |
| First shown | 29 August 2017[2] | 19 November 2025[2] |
| Model years | 2019–present (unstated)[2] | Not documented here |
| Codes | E3[3], 9YA[2], 9YB[2], 9Y0[2], 9Y3[2], PO536[4] | E4[2], X1A[2], X1B[2] |
| Platform | Volkswagen Group MLB Evo[2] | Premium Platform Electric (PPE)[2] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV (9Y0)[2] 5-door coupé SUV (Cayenne Coupé, 9Y3), from 2019[5] | 5-door SUV[2] 5-door coupé SUV (Cayenne Coupé Electric), from 2026[6] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | AWD[7] | AWD[1] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Plug-in hybrid | Electric |
| Dimensions | ||
| Not compared | These generations have no dimension figures for the same market and body, so they are not set side by side. Each generation page lists its figures by market. | |
| Luggage capacity | 625 L behind 2nd row, Europe, not stated, Cayenne Coupé[8] 1,540 L behind 1st row, Europe, not stated, Cayenne Coupé[8] | 781 L behind unstated, Europe, not stated, SUV, rear boot (minimum of stated range)[1] 1,588 L behind unstated, Europe, not stated, SUV, rear boot (maximum of stated range)[1] 90 L behind unstated, Europe, not stated, SUV, front luggage compartment[1] 534 L behind unstated, Europe, not stated, Coupé, rear seats in 'cargo' position (minimum of range)[6] |
| Highest output documented | 739 PS (544 kW) Cayenne Turbo E-Hybrid (2023), market not stated[2] | 850 kW (1,156 PS) Cayenne Turbo Electric, Europe[1] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- A technological milestone for Porsche as the Cayenne goes electric — Porsche Newsroom, 19 November 2025 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Porsche Cayenne — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- The ‘third Porsche’ – an extraordinary success story — Porsche Newsroom, 2022 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Porsche Cayenne — Wikipedia (German) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- The Cayenne journey – courage, secrets and world records — Porsche Newsroom, 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Inspired by an icon: the new Cayenne Coupé Electric — Porsche Newsroom, 24 April 2026 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- World premiere of the new Cayenne in Zuffenhausen — Porsche Newsroom, 29 August 2017 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Porsche presents the Cayenne Coupé — Porsche Newsroom, 21 March 2019 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.