What changed? · Toyota RAV4
XA30 → XA40
Toyota RAV4 (XA30) (2005–2012) compared with its successor, the Toyota RAV4 (XA40) (2012–2018).
Changes stated by the sources
- Design Roof-hinged liftgate replaced the side-hinged rear door; spare wheel moved under the cargo floor.[1]
- Powertrain The optional V6 was discontinued.[1]
- Powertrain A six-speed automatic with sequential shift replaced the four-speed automatic.[1]
- Dimensions 235 mm longer than the previous short-wheelbase model.[2]
- Drivetrain Debut of the Dynamic Torque Control AWD system.[2]
- Dimensions 205 mm longer (4,570 mm), 30 mm wider and 25 mm lower than its predecessor.[3]
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the XA40 but not the XA30: hybrid.
- Powertrain Documented for the XA30 but not the XA40: electric.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Toyota RAV4 (XA30) Third generation | Toyota RAV4 (XA40) Fourth generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2005–2012[4] | 2012–2018[4] |
| First shown | 2005[4] | 28 November 2012[1] |
| Model years | 2006–2012 (NA)[4] | 2013–2018 (NA)[4] |
| Codes | XA30[4] | XA40[4] |
| Platform | Toyota New MC platform[4] | Toyota New MC platform[4] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV, short wheelbase[4] 5-door SUV, long wheelbase[4] 5-door SUV, long wheelbase (Vanguard)[4] | 5-door SUV[4] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | FWD[4], AWD[5] | FWD[1], AWD[1], AWD[6] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel, Electric | Petrol, Diesel, Hybrid |
| Dimensions | ||
| Not compared | These generations have no dimension figures for the same market and body, so they are not set side by side. Each generation page lists its figures by market. | |
| Luggage capacity | Not documented here | 38.4 cu ft (1,087 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated[1] 73.4 cu ft (2,078 L converted) behind 1st row, United States, not stated[1] |
| Highest output documented | 200 kW (272 PS) 3.5 V6 (2GR-FE), market not stated[4] | 145 kW (197 PS) 2.5 Hybrid, market not stated[4] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- All-New 2013 Toyota RAV4 Makes World Debut at Los Angeles International Auto Show — Toyota USA Newsroom, 28 November 2012 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Celebrating The Original: 20 Years Of The Toyota RAV4 — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota Launches New RAV4 in Japan — Toyota Motor Corporation, 14 November 2005 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Start Spreading the News: 2016 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Debuts at New York International Auto Show — Toyota USA Newsroom, 2 April 2015 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.