Home › Toyota › Toyota RAV4 › XA40
Toyota RAV4 · Fourth generation · production 2012–2018
Toyota RAV4 (XA40)
Toyota RAV4 (XA40), original version (before the first facelift) · front three-quarter Photo: Vauxford · CC BY-SA 4.0 · Wikimedia Commons ↗ · licence
Key facts Production December 2012[4] – November 2018[4] First shown 28 November 2012, Los Angeles Auto Show[1] Sales start January 2013 (United States)[4] February 2013 (Australia)[4] 13 April 2013 (Europe)[3] Model years 2013–2018 (North America)[4] Codes XA40 model code [4] Names by market Not documented here Platform Toyota New MC platform[4] Assembly Nagakusa (Ōbu), Takaoka (Toyota City) and Tahara plants, Aichi, Japan[4] TMMC, Woodstock, Ontario, Canada[4] FAW Toyota, Changchun, Jilin, China[4] Saint Petersburg, Russia[4] Body styles 5-door SUV[4] Seating Not documented here Drivetrain Front-wheel drive — United States [1] All-wheel drive (Dynamic Torque Control AWD) — United States [1] All-wheel drive (AWD-i (hybrid, rear electric motor)) — United States [5]
What changed from the XA30
Design Roof-hinged liftgate replaced the side-hinged rear door; spare wheel moved under the cargo floor.[1] Powertrain The optional V6 was discontinued.[1] Powertrain A six-speed automatic with sequential shift replaced the four-speed automatic.[1] Dimensions 235 mm longer than the previous short-wheelbase model.[2] Drivetrain Debut of the Dynamic Torque Control AWD system.[2] Dimensions 205 mm longer (4,570 mm), 30 mm wider and 25 mm lower than its predecessor.[3]
Side-by-side comparison with the XA30
Facelifts and updates Facelift Facelift (2015) and RAV4 Hybrid shown 2 April 2015 (New York International Auto Show)[5] · on sale January 2016 (Europe)[3]
Design Refreshed exterior styling on all models.[5] Powertrain RAV4 Hybrid added to the range.[5] Drivetrain Both grades use an electronic on-demand all-wheel-drive system (AWD-i).[5] Safety equipment Toyota Safety Sense introduced (US).[5] Powertrain The 91 kW and 110 kW diesel engines were dropped.[3]
Dimensions Market Version Length Width Height Wheelbase Source
Market not stated pre-facelift 4,570 mm (179.9 in) — — — [3] Market not stated — — 1,845 mm (72.6 in) — 2,660 mm (104.7 in) [4]
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity Market Version Measured behind Volume Method Source
United States — 2nd row 38.4 cu ft (1,087 L converted) not stated [1] United States — 1st row (rear seats folded) 73.4 cu ft (2,078 L converted) not stated [1]
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains Version Market Type Engine / motor Power Torque Transmission Drive Years Source
2.5 (US) United States Petrol 2.5 L I4 176 hp (131 kW) 172 lb-ft (233 Nm) 6-speed automatic — 2013 model year [1] 2.0 FWD Market not stated Petrol 2.0 L I4 111 kW (151 PS) 195 Nm (144 lb-ft) — FWD 2012–2018 [4] 2.5 AWD Market not stated Petrol 2.5 L I4 131 kW (178 PS) 233 Nm (172 lb-ft) — AWD 2012–2018 [4] 2.5 Hybrid Market not stated Hybrid 2.5 L 2AR-FXE I4 Atkinson + electric motors 145 kW (197 PS) 279 Nm (206 lb-ft) — AWD 2015–2018 [4] 120D 4x2 (2.0 diesel) Market not stated Diesel 2.0 L I4 diesel 91 kW (124 PS) 310 Nm (229 lb-ft) — FWD 2012–2018 [4] 150D AWD (2.2 D-4D) Market not stated Diesel 2.2 L I4 turbo-diesel 110 kW (150 PS) 340 Nm (251 lb-ft) — AWD 2012–2018 [4]
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes Length increase over the XA30 short-wheelbase model: Toyota GB says +235 mm, German Wikipedia says +205 mm (to 4,570 mm). Both quoted. Not sold in Japan: the XA30 short-wheelbase car stayed on sale there until 2016. Engine tables from Wikipedia (2.0, diesels) reflect European specifications but the source does not name the market, so they are marked 'unstated'.
‹ Toyota RAV4 (XA30) All Toyota RAV4 generations Toyota RAV4 (XA50) ›