- Design Front and rear fascias restyled.[1]
- Other A three-door soft-top version was added.[5]
- Powertrain Power rose slightly, to 95 kW.[1]
- Interior Interior detail changes including different seat colours and a restyled steering wheel.[1]
Toyota RAV4 · First generation · production 1994–2000
Toyota RAV4 (XA10)
Key facts
| Production | May 1994[1] – May 2000[1] |
|---|---|
| First shown | 1994, Geneva Motor Show[2] |
| Sales start | 10 May 1994 (Japan)[3] June 1994 (United Kingdom)[2] January 1996 (United States)[1] |
| Model years | 1996–2000 (North America)[1] |
| Codes | XA10 model code[1] |
| Names by market | RAV4 L (Japan)[4] RAV4 J (Japan)[4] |
| Platform | Not documented here |
| Assembly | Motomachi plant, Toyota City, Aichi, Japan[1] Tahara plant, Tahara, Aichi, Japan[1] |
| Body styles | 3-door SUV (hardtop)[1] 5-door SUV (long wheelbase)[1] 3-door soft-top convertible SUV — United Kingdom[5] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | All-wheel drive (full-time 4WD) — Japan[3] Front-wheel drive — United States[1] |
Photos
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japan | 3-door (RAV4 L/J launch) | 3,695 mm (145.5 in) | 1,695 mm (66.7 in) | 1,695 mm (66.7 in) | — | [3] |
| Market not stated | 5-door | — | — | 1,650 mm (65.0 in) | 2,410 mm (94.9 in) | [1] |
| Market not stated | 3-door | — | 1,695 mm (66.7 in) | — | 2,200 mm (86.6 in) | [1] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.0 (3S-FE) | Japan | Petrol | 2.0 L 3S-FE I4 | — | — | 5-speed manual / 4-speed automatic | AWD | 1994– | [3] |
| 2.0 (3S-GE) | Japan | Petrol | 2.0 L 3S-GE I4 | 132 kW (179 PS) | — | — | — | — | [1] |
| 2.0 (US) | United States | Petrol | 2.0 L I4 | 89 kW (121 PS) | — | — | — | — | [1] |
| 2.0 (UK) | United Kingdom | Petrol | 2.0 L I4 | 127 hp (95 kW) | — | — | AWD | — | [2] |
| 2.0 (1998 facelift) | Market not stated | Petrol | — | 95 kW (129 PS) | — | — | — | 1997–2000 | [1] |
| RAV4 EV | United States | Electric | electric motor, 27 kWh NiMH battery | 50 kW (68 PS) | 190 Nm (140 lb-ft) | — | — | 1997–2003 | [1] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Toyota's 1994 Japanese launch release gives height as 1,695 mm for the launch three-door; Wikipedia gives 1,646–1,661 mm for the three-door. Both are recorded only where quoted; the release figure is kept.
- Model years 1996–2000 are North American (US launch January 1996 for the 1996 model year).
- Power figures differ by market and measuring standard (89 kW US, 127 bhp UK, 95 kW after the facelift per Wikipedia); they are kept as separate records.
- The first-generation RAV4 EV (1997–2003, California fleet lease) is recorded as a powertrain of this generation.
Sources
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Celebrating The Original: 20 Years Of The Toyota RAV4 — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota Introduces the RAV4―a New-Concept 4X4 — Toyota Motor Corporation, 10 May 1994 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- New RAV4s Take "Stylish and Rugged" Concept to Higher Level — Toyota Motor Corporation, 19 May 2000 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- RAV4 (1998–2000) — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.