- Design Styling update with redesigned interior and improved equipment.[4]
- Powertrain 2.4-litre 2AZ-FE engine (120 kW) replaced the 2.0 in the US and Australia.[4]
- Safety equipment US: improved safety structure and standard Vehicle Stability Control.[4]
Toyota RAV4 · Second generation · production 2000–2005
Toyota RAV4 (XA20)
Key facts
| Production | May 2000[4] – November 2005[4] |
|---|---|
| First shown | Not documented here |
| Sales start | 19 May 2000 (Japan)[1] August 2000 (Europe)[3] |
| Model years | 2001–2005 (North America)[4] |
| Codes | XA20 model code[4] |
| Names by market | RAV4 L (Japan)[1] RAV4 J (Japan)[1] |
| Platform | Toyota MC platform[4] |
| Assembly | Tahara plant, Tahara, Aichi, Japan[4] Nagakusa plant, Ōbu, Aichi, Japan[4] |
| Body styles | 3-door SUV — Europe, Australia[4] 5-door SUV[4] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | All-wheel drive (full-time 4WD) — Japan[1] Front-wheel drive — market not stated[4] |
Photos
What changed from the XA10
- Dimensions Wheelbases extended by 80 mm; the three- and five-door are 45 mm and 30 mm longer.[1]
- Chassis New platform and new suspension.[1]
- Drivetrain All-wheel drive gained a limited-slip centre differential, with an optional Torsen limited-slip rear differential.[2]
- Powertrain First diesel RAV4 launched in 2002.[2]
- Safety equipment ABS with electronic brake-force distribution and brake assist standard on all models.[1]
- Drivetrain First RAV4 offered without all-wheel drive.[3]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | 5-door | — | 1,735 mm (68.3 in) | — | 2,490 mm (98.0 in) | [4] |
| Market not stated | 3-door | 3,860 mm (152.0 in) | 1,735 mm (68.3 in) | — | 2,280 mm (89.8 in) | [4] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.0 D-4 (1AZ-FSE) | Japan | Petrol | 2.0 L 1AZ-FSE I4 direct injection | — | — | — | — | — | [1] |
| 1.8 (1ZZ-FE) | Japan | Petrol | 1.8 L 1ZZ-FE I4 | — | — | — | — | — | [1] |
| 1.8 VVT-i | Market not stated | Petrol | 1.8 L I4 | 92 kW (125 PS) | — | — | FWD | — | [3] |
| 2.0 VVT-i | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L I4 | 110 kW (150 PS) | — | — | — | — | [3] |
| 2.0 D-4D | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L I4 turbo-diesel | 85 kW (116 PS) | — | — | — | — | [3] |
| 2.4 (2AZ-FE) | United States | Petrol | 2.4 L 2AZ-FE I4 | 120 kW (163 PS) | 220 Nm (162 lb-ft) | — | — | 2003–2005 | [4] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Length increase versus the first generation conflicts: Toyota Japan (2000) says +45 mm (3-door) and +30 mm (5-door); Toyota GB (2014) says +55 mm and +40 mm. Both quoted.
- The 2.0 D-4D diesel is given as 85 kW (115 PS) in the German Wikipedia engine list and 85 kW (116 PS) in its prose.
- North American market had only the five-door; model years 2001–2005.
- The 2003 facelift date (July 2003) is from German Wikipedia and reflects Europe; North American facelift was for model year 2004.
Sources
- New RAV4s Take "Stylish and Rugged" Concept to Higher Level — Toyota Motor Corporation, 19 May 2000 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Celebrating The Original: 20 Years Of The Toyota RAV4 — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.