RD1 → RD4
Honda CR-V (RD1) (1995–2001) compared with its successor, the Honda CR-V (RD4) (2001–2006).
Changes stated by the sources
Size
Width 1,780 → 1,785 mm (+5 mm).
market not stated figures (neither source states the market): pre-facelift[3] against as published[3].
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the RD4 but not the RD1: diesel.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Honda CR-V (RD1) First generation | Honda CR-V (RD4) Second generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 1995–2001[3] | 2001–2006[3] |
| First shown | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Model years | 1997–2001 (US)[1] | 2002–2006 (US)[1] |
| Codes | RD1[3], RD2[3], RD3[3] | RD4[3], RD5[3], RD6[3], RD7[3], RD8[3], RD9[3] |
| Platform | Not documented here | Honda Global Compact Platform[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[3] | 5-door SUV[3] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | AWD[3], FWD[1] | Not documented here |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol | Petrol, Diesel |
| Dimensions — market not stated (the sources do not state the market for any of these figures) | ||
| Version compared | pre-facelift[3] | as published[3] |
| Width | 1,780 mm | 1,785 mm (+5 mm) |
| Luggage capacity | 67.2 cu ft (1,903 L converted) behind unstated, United States, not stated[1] | 72.0 cu ft (2,039 L converted) behind unstated, market not stated, not stated[3] |
| Highest output documented | 147 hp (110 kW) 2.0 (B20Z), market not stated[3] | 160 hp (119 kW) 2.4 i-VTEC (US), United States[1] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- Honda CR-V Timeline and Milestones — Honda News (American Honda) Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda Celebrates 30th Anniversary of CR-V — Honda Motor Co., Ltd., 9 October 2025 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.