RM1/2/3/4 → RW1
Honda CR-V (RM1/2/3/4) (2011–2018) compared with its successor, the Honda CR-V (RW1) (2016–2023).
Changes stated by the sources
- Powertrain EX and higher trims got the first turbocharged engine in a CR-V.[1]
- Chassis Moved to the Compact Car Architecture shared with the tenth-generation Civic.[2]
- Powertrain First CR-V with a hybrid variant.[3]
- Safety equipment Honda Sensing standard on EX and higher trims.[4]
- Design Active Shutter Grille that lowers aerodynamic drag, a Honda first.[4]
- Other Seven-seat version offered outside North America.[2]
Size
Length 4,529 → 4,587 mm (+58 mm); Width 1,819 → 1,854 mm (+36 mm); Height 1,643 → 1,679 mm (+36 mm); Wheelbase 2,619 → 2,659 mm (+41 mm).
United States figures: 2012 model year, FWD height[5] against 2017 model year, 2WD height[6].
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the RW1 but not the RM1/2/3/4: hybrid.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Honda CR-V (RM1/2/3/4) Fourth generation | Honda CR-V (RW1) Fifth generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2011–2018[7] | 2016–2023[2] |
| First shown | 16 November 2011[8] | 13 October 2016[2] |
| Model years | 2012–2016 (US)[1] | 2017–2022 (US)[2] |
| Codes | RM1/2/3/4[7] | RW1[2], RW2[2], RW3[2], RW4[2], RW5[2], RW6[2], RW7[2], RW8[2], RT5[2], RT6[2] |
| Platform | Honda C-5[7] | Honda Compact Car Architecture (CCA)[2] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[7] | 5-door SUV[2] |
| Seating | Not documented here | 5 or 7[2] |
| Drivetrain | AWD[1] | FWD[2], AWD[1] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel | Petrol, Diesel, Hybrid |
| Dimensions — United States | ||
| Version compared | 2012 model year, FWD height[5] | 2017 model year, 2WD height[6] |
| Length | 4,529 mm | 4,587 mm (+58 mm) |
| Width | 1,819 mm | 1,854 mm (+36 mm) |
| Height | 1,643 mm | 1,679 mm (+36 mm) |
| Wheelbase | 2,619 mm | 2,659 mm (+41 mm) |
| Luggage capacity | 37.2 cu ft (1,053 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, 2012 model year[5] 70.9 cu ft (2,008 L converted) behind 1st row, United States, not stated, 2012 model year[5] 35.2 cu ft (997 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, 2015 model year[9] | 39.2 cu ft (1,110 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, LX/EX/EX-L[6] 75.8 cu ft (2,146 L converted) behind 1st row, United States, not stated, LX/EX/EX-L[6] 33.2 cu ft (940 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, CR-V Hybrid[10] |
| Highest output documented | 185 hp (138 kW) 2.4 i-VTEC (US, 2012), United States[5] | 212 hp (158 kW) CR-V Hybrid (US), United States[10] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- Honda CR-V Timeline and Milestones — Honda News (American Honda) Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V (fifth generation) — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda Celebrates 30th Anniversary of CR-V — Honda Motor Co., Ltd., 9 October 2025 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New 2017 Honda CR-V — Honda News (American Honda), 13 October 2016 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2012 Honda CR-V Specifications and Features — Honda News (American Honda), 16 November 2011 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2017 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 30 November 2016 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V (fourth generation) — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New, Completely Redesigned 2012 Honda CR-V Debuts at LA Auto Show — Honda News (American Honda), 16 November 2011 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2015 CR-V Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 30 September 2014 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2020 CR-V & CR-V Hybrid Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 17 March 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.