Honda CR-V · Fifth generation · production 2016–2023
Honda CR-V (RW1)
Key facts
| Production | November 2016[2] – 2023[2] |
|---|---|
| First shown | 13 October 2016, Detroit[2] |
| Sales start | 21 December 2016 (United States)[2] September 2018 (Europe)[2] 31 August 2018 (Japan)[2] |
| Model years | 2017–2022 (United States)[2] |
| Codes | RW1 model code[2], RW2 model code[2], RW3 model code[2], RW4 model code[2], RW5 model code[2], RW6 model code[2], RW7 model code[2], RW8 model code[2], RT5 model code[2], RT6 model code[2] |
| Names by market | Breeze (China)[2] |
| Platform | Honda Compact Car Architecture (CCA)[2] |
| Assembly | East Liberty, Ohio, US[4] Alliston, Ontario, Canada[4] Greensburg, Indiana, US[4] Marysville, Ohio, US[1] Japan (European-market cars)[2] Dongfeng Honda (Wuhan) and GAC Honda (Guangzhou, Breeze), China[2] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[2] |
| Seating | 5 or 7 seats[2] |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive[2] All-wheel drive (Real Time AWD with Intelligent Control System) — United States[1] |
Photos
What changed from the RM1/2/3/4
- Powertrain EX and higher trims got the first turbocharged engine in a CR-V.[1]
- Chassis Moved to the Compact Car Architecture shared with the tenth-generation Civic.[2]
- Powertrain First CR-V with a hybrid variant.[3]
- Safety equipment Honda Sensing standard on EX and higher trims.[4]
- Design Active Shutter Grille that lowers aerodynamic drag, a Honda first.[4]
- Other Seven-seat version offered outside North America.[2]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 2017 model year, 2WD height | 180.6 in (4,587 mm) | 73.0 in (1,854 mm) | 66.1 in (1,679 mm) | 104.7 in (2,659 mm) | [6] |
| United States | 2020 model year (facelift), 2WD | 182.1 in (4,625 mm) | 73.0 in (1,854 mm) | 66.1 in (1,679 mm) | 104.8 in (2,662 mm) | [7] |
| Market not stated | — | — | 1,855 mm (73.0 in) | — | 2,660 mm (104.7 in) | [2] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | LX/EX/EX-L | 2nd row | 39.2 cu ft (1,110 L converted) | not stated | [6] |
| United States | LX/EX/EX-L | 1st row (rear seats folded) | 75.8 cu ft (2,146 L converted) | not stated | [6] |
| United States | CR-V Hybrid | 2nd row | 33.2 cu ft (940 L converted) | not stated | [7] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.4 i-VTEC (US LX) | United States | Petrol | 2.4 L in-line 4-cylinder | 184 hp (137 kW) | 180 lb-ft (244 Nm) | CVT | — | 2017 model year | [6] |
| 1.5 VTEC Turbo (US) | United States | Petrol | 1.5 L turbocharged in-line 4-cylinder | 190 hp (142 kW) | 179 lb-ft (243 Nm) | CVT | — | 2017 model year | [6] |
| CR-V Hybrid (US) | United States | Hybrid | 2.0 L in-line 4-cylinder + AC synchronous permanent-magnet electric motor | 212 hp (158 kW) | — | — | AWD | 2020 model year | [7] |
| CR-V Hybrid (China) | China | Hybrid | 2.0 L I4 hybrid | 158 kW (215 PS) | — | — | — | — | [2] |
| 2.0 i-VTEC (R20Z1) | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L R20Z1 I4 | 151 hp (113 kW) | 139 lb-ft (188 Nm) | — | — | — | [2] |
| 1.6 i-DTEC twin-turbo | Market not stated | Diesel | 1.6 L N16A4 I4 twin-turbo diesel | 160 hp (119 kW) | 258 lb-ft (350 Nm) | 9-speed automatic | — | — | [2] |
| 1.6 i-DTEC | Market not stated | Diesel | 1.6 L N16A5 I4 turbo-diesel | 120 hp (89 kW) | 221 lb-ft (300 Nm) | — | — | — | [2] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- US model years 2017–2022. Japanese sales started 31 August 2018 after a two-year absence; European sales in September 2018 (imported from Japan), hybrid in early 2019.
- Breeze is the GAC Honda (Guangqi Honda) version for China from October 2019, sold alongside the Dongfeng Honda CR-V.
Sources
- Honda CR-V Timeline and Milestones — Honda News (American Honda) Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V (fifth generation) — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda Celebrates 30th Anniversary of CR-V — Honda Motor Co., Ltd., 9 October 2025 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New 2017 Honda CR-V — Honda News (American Honda), 13 October 2016 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2020 Honda CR-V: America's Most Popular CUV Gets New U.S.-Built Hybrid-Electric Version — Honda News (American Honda), 18 September 2019 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2017 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 30 November 2016 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2020 CR-V & CR-V Hybrid Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 17 March 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.