- Powertrain New direct-injection Earth Dreams 2.4-litre engine with 181 lb-ft of torque, 11 percent more than before.[6]
- Safety equipment Honda Sensing safety and driver-assistance features became standard on the CR-V Touring.[3]
- Technology 7-inch touchscreen Display Audio introduced.[6]
- Powertrain 1.6 i-DTEC diesel with 120 PS (two-wheel drive) or 160 PS (four-wheel drive).[5]
Honda CR-V · Fourth generation · production 2011–2018
Honda CR-V (RM1/2/3/4)
Key facts
| Production | November 2011[5] – 2018[5] |
|---|---|
| First shown | 16 November 2011, Los Angeles Auto Show[2] |
| Sales start | 15 December 2011 (United States)[2] 2 December 2011 (Japan)[5] February 2012 (China)[5] |
| Model years | 2012–2016 (United States)[3] |
| Codes | RM1/2/3/4 model code[5] |
| Names by market | Not documented here |
| Platform | Honda C-5[5] |
| Assembly | East Liberty, Ohio, US[1] Honda of Canada Mfg., Alliston, Ontario, Canada[5] El Salto, Jalisco, Mexico[5] Swindon, UK[5] Dongfeng Honda, Wuhan, China[5] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[5] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | All-wheel drive (Real Time AWD with Intelligent Control System) — United States[3] |
Photos
What changed from the RE1
- Powertrain 2.4-litre engine up 5 hp to 185 hp.[1]
- Dimensions Roofline 1.0 in lower than the 2011 model.[1]
- Drivetrain All-new Real Time AWD with Intelligent Control System.[2]
- Technology Two information screens, Bluetooth hands-free phone link, a multi-angle rearview camera and a 60/40 split rear seat became standard.[3]
- Interior Larger cabin and cargo space with a more aerodynamic body.[4]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 2012 model year, FWD height | 178.3 in (4,529 mm) | 71.6 in (1,819 mm) | 64.7 in (1,643 mm) | 103.1 in (2,619 mm) | [7] |
| United States | 2015 model year (facelift), 2WD height | 179.4 in (4,557 mm) | 71.6 in (1,819 mm) | 64.7 in (1,643 mm) | 103.1 in (2,619 mm) | [8] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 2012 model year | 2nd row | 37.2 cu ft (1,053 L converted) | not stated | [7] |
| United States | 2012 model year | 1st row (rear seats folded) | 70.9 cu ft (2,008 L converted) | not stated | [7] |
| United States | 2015 model year | 2nd row | 35.2 cu ft (997 L converted) | not stated | [8] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.4 i-VTEC (US, 2012) | United States | Petrol | 2.4 L DOHC i-VTEC I4 | 185 hp (138 kW) | 163 lb-ft (221 Nm) | 5-speed automatic | — | 2012 model year | [7] |
| 2.4 direct injection (US, 2015) | United States | Petrol | 2.4 L DOHC i-VTEC I4, direct injection | 185 hp (138 kW) | 181 lb-ft (245 Nm) | CVT | — | 2015 model year | [8] |
| 2.0 i-VTEC | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L R20A I4 | 150 hp (112 kW) | — | — | — | — | [9] |
| 2.2 i-DTEC | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.2 L N22B I4 diesel | 150 hp (112 kW) | — | — | — | — | [9] |
| 1.6 i-DTEC 120 | Europe | Diesel | 1.6 L N16 I4 turbo-diesel | 120 PS (88 kW) | 300 Nm (221 lb-ft) | — | FWD | 2015– | [5] |
| 1.6 i-DTEC 160 | Europe | Diesel | 1.6 L N16 I4 turbo-diesel | 160 PS (118 kW) | 350 Nm (258 lb-ft) | — | AWD | 2015– | [5] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- US model years 2012–2016; production ran to 2018 in some markets (Wikipedia).
- In Japan the fourth generation was discontinued in August 2016 and the CR-V returned there only with the fifth generation in 2018 (Wikipedia, fifth-generation article).
- The 1.6 i-DTEC diesels are given by Wikipedia in its section on the European 2015 model, so they are marked as European.
Sources
- All-New, Completely Redesigned 2012 Honda CR-V — Honda News (American Honda), 16 November 2011 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New, Completely Redesigned 2012 Honda CR-V Debuts at LA Auto Show — Honda News (American Honda), 16 November 2011 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V Timeline and Milestones — Honda News (American Honda) Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda Celebrates 30th Anniversary of CR-V — Honda Motor Co., Ltd., 9 October 2025 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V (fourth generation) — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Boldly Restyled and Significantly Enhanced 2015 Honda CR-V — Honda News (American Honda), 30 September 2014 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2012 Honda CR-V Specifications and Features — Honda News (American Honda), 16 November 2011 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2015 CR-V Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 30 September 2014 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.