RW1 → RS
Honda CR-V (RW1) (2016–2023) compared with its successor, the Honda CR-V (RS) (2022–present).
Changes stated by the sources
- Dimensions 2.7 in longer overall with a 1.6 in longer wheelbase and 0.4 in more width.[1]
- Chassis Body 15 percent stiffer torsionally.[1]
- Powertrain Torque rose by 15 lb-ft to 247 lb-ft.[2]
- Drivetrain AWD can send up to 50 percent of torque to the rear wheels.[1]
- Chassis Based on the Honda Architecture platform of the eleventh-generation Civic.[3]
- Powertrain Diesel option no longer offered.[3]
Size
Length 4,587 → 4,694 mm (+107 mm); Width 1,854 → 1,867 mm (+13 mm); Height 1,679 → 1,689 mm (+10 mm); Wheelbase 2,659 → 2,700 mm (+41 mm).
United States figures: 2017 model year, 2WD height[4] against AWD[5].
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the RS but not the RW1: plug-in hybrid and hydrogen fuel cell.
- Powertrain Documented for the RW1 but not the RS: diesel.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Honda CR-V (RW1) Fifth generation | Honda CR-V (RS) Sixth generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2016–2023[6] | 2022–present[3] |
| First shown | 13 October 2016[6] | 12 July 2022[1] |
| Model years | 2017–2022 (US)[6] | 2023–present (US)[3] |
| Codes | RW1[6], RW2[6], RW3[6], RW4[6], RW5[6], RW6[6], RW7[6], RW8[6], RT5[6], RT6[6] | RS[3], ZC8[3] |
| Platform | Honda Compact Car Architecture (CCA)[6] | Honda Architecture (HA)[3] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[6] | 5-door SUV[3] |
| Seating | 5 or 7[6] | 5 or 7[7] |
| Drivetrain | FWD[6], AWD[2] | FWD[8], AWD[1] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel, Hybrid | Petrol, Hybrid, Plug-in hybrid, Hydrogen fuel cell |
| Dimensions — United States | ||
| Version compared | 2017 model year, 2WD height[4] | AWD[5] |
| Length | 4,587 mm | 4,694 mm (+107 mm) |
| Width | 1,854 mm | 1,867 mm (+13 mm) |
| Height | 1,679 mm | 1,689 mm (+10 mm) |
| Wheelbase | 2,659 mm | 2,700 mm (+41 mm) |
| Luggage capacity | 39.2 cu ft (1,110 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, LX/EX/EX-L[4] 75.8 cu ft (2,146 L converted) behind 1st row, United States, not stated, LX/EX/EX-L[4] 33.2 cu ft (940 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, CR-V Hybrid[9] | 39.3 cu ft (1,113 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, 2023 model year[5] 76.5 cu ft (2,166 L converted) behind 1st row, United States, not stated, 2023 model year[5] 25.2 cu ft (714 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated, CR-V e:FCEV[8] |
| Highest output documented | 212 hp (158 kW) CR-V Hybrid (US), United States[9] | 204 hp (152 kW) CR-V Hybrid (US), United States[5] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- America's Favorite SUV Gets Even Better: All-New Honda CR-V — Honda News (American Honda), 12 July 2022 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V Timeline and Milestones — Honda News (American Honda) Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V (sixth generation) — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- 2017 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 30 November 2016 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 17 May 2023 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V (fifth generation) — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Honda CR-V — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- 2025 Honda CR-V e:FCEV Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 19 April 2024 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- 2020 CR-V & CR-V Hybrid Specifications & Features — Honda News (American Honda), 17 March 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.