What changed? · Hyundai Tucson
TL → NX4
Hyundai Tucson (TL) (2015–2021) compared with its successor, the Hyundai Tucson (NX4) (2020–present).
Changes stated by the sources
- Dimensions 20 mm longer and 15 mm wider than the previous generation, with a 10 mm longer wheelbase.[1]
- Dimensions Offered in two wheelbases, 2,680 mm and 2,755 mm, depending on the market.[2]
- Interior Rear legroom increased by 26 mm.[1]
- Powertrain Hybrid, plug-in hybrid and 48-volt mild-hybrid petrol and diesel powertrains were offered.[1]
- Safety equipment Seven airbags including a new front centre side airbag.[1]
- Interior Rear seats fold in a 40:20:40 split.[1]
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the NX4 but not the TL: mild hybrid, hybrid and plug-in hybrid.
- Design Body styles documented for the NX4 only: Long wheelbase.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Hyundai Tucson (TL) Third generation | Hyundai Tucson (NX4) Fourth generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2015–2021[2] | 2020–present[2] |
| First shown | 3 March 2015[2] | 15 September 2020[2] |
| Model years | 2016–2021 (unstated)[2] | 2022–present (NA)[2] 2022–2026 (unstated)[2] |
| Codes | TL[2] | NX4[2] |
| Platform | Not documented here | Hyundai-Kia N3/N4[2] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[2] | 5-door SUV, short wheelbase (2,680 mm)[2] 5-door SUV, long wheelbase (2,755 mm)[2] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | FWD[2], AWD[2] | FWD[1], AWD[1] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel | Petrol, Diesel, Mild hybrid, Hybrid, Plug-in hybrid |
| Dimensions | ||
| Not compared | These generations have no dimension figures for the same market and body, so they are not set side by side. Each generation page lists its figures by market. | |
| Luggage capacity | 513 L behind 2nd row, market not stated, not stated[2] | 620 L behind 2nd row, United Kingdom, not stated, petrol, short wheelbase[1] 616 L behind 2nd row, United Kingdom, not stated, hybrid, short wheelbase[1] 1,799 L behind 1st row, United Kingdom, not stated, petrol, short wheelbase[1] 558 L behind 2nd row, United Kingdom, not stated, plug-in hybrid, short wheelbase[3] 38.7 cu ft (1,096 L converted) behind unstated, market not stated, not stated, long wheelbase[2] |
| Highest output documented | 186 PS (137 kW) 2.0 diesel (186 PS, facelift), Europe[4] | 265 PS (195 kW) 1.6 T-GDi Plug-in Hybrid, United Kingdom[3] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- The all-new Hyundai Tucson (press kit) — Hyundai Motor UK newsroom, 23 December 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Hyundai Tucson — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Hyundai Motor reveals details on all-new Tucson Plug-in Hybrid — Hyundai Motor UK newsroom, 10 December 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- New Hyundai Tucson: worldwide debut at NY International Auto Show — Hyundai Motor UK newsroom, 28 March 2018 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.