- Design Revised radiator grille with thin, angular lines.[3]
- Design Bumper and skid plates extend across the full width, front and rear.[3]
- Interior New switchgear for climate and infotainment, gear selector moved to the steering column and a revised centre console with a larger wireless charging pad.[2]
- Other Described by Hyundai as the first partial redesign of the fourth generation, three years after its September 2020 launch.[3]
Hyundai Tucson · Fourth generation · production 2020–present
Hyundai Tucson (NX4)
Key facts
| Production | 2020[2] – present |
|---|---|
| First shown | 15 September 2020[2] |
| Sales start | September 2020 (South Korea)[2] 10 February 2021 (Mexico)[2] 26 April 2021 (Australia)[2] 8 December 2021 (Taiwan)[2] 10 August 2022 (India)[2] |
| Model years | 2022–present (North America)[2] 2022–2026 (market not stated)[2] |
| Codes | NX4 model code[2] |
| Names by market | Tucson L (China)[2] Tucson L (Taiwan)[2] |
| Platform | Hyundai-Kia N3/N4[2] |
| Assembly | Ulsan, South Korea (Ulsan Plant 3, 5)[2] Nošovice, Czech Republic (HMMC)[1] Montgomery, Alabama, United States (HMMA)[2] Pesquería, Mexico (KMMX)[2] Beijing, China (Beijing Hyundai)[2] Hukou, Taiwan (Sanyang Motor)[2] Ninh Bình, Vietnam (HTMV)[2] Chennai, India (HMIL)[2] Faisalabad, Pakistan (Hyundai Nishat)[2] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV, short wheelbase (2,680 mm) — Europe, Middle East, Mexico[2] 5-door SUV, long wheelbase (2,755 mm) — North America, China[2] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive — United Kingdom[1] All-wheel drive (HTRAC) — United Kingdom[1] |
Photos
What changed from the TL
- Dimensions 20 mm longer and 15 mm wider than the previous generation, with a 10 mm longer wheelbase.[1]
- Dimensions Offered in two wheelbases, 2,680 mm and 2,755 mm, depending on the market.[2]
- Interior Rear legroom increased by 26 mm.[1]
- Powertrain Hybrid, plug-in hybrid and 48-volt mild-hybrid petrol and diesel powertrains were offered.[1]
- Safety equipment Seven airbags including a new front centre side airbag.[1]
- Interior Rear seats fold in a 40:20:40 split.[1]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom | short wheelbase, pre-facelift | 4,500 mm (177.2 in) | 1,865 mm (73.4 in) | 1,650 mm (65.0 in) | 2,680 mm (105.5 in) | [1] |
| Market not stated | long wheelbase | — | — | — | 2,755 mm (108.5 in) | [2] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom | petrol, short wheelbase | 2nd row | 620 L | not stated | [1] |
| United Kingdom | hybrid, short wheelbase | 2nd row | 616 L | not stated | [1] |
| United Kingdom | petrol, short wheelbase | 1st row (rear seats folded) | 1,799 L | not stated | [1] |
| United Kingdom | plug-in hybrid, short wheelbase | 2nd row | 558 L | not stated | [4] |
| Market not stated | long wheelbase | unstated | 38.7 cu ft (1,096 L converted) | not stated | [2] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.6 T-GDi 150 PS | United Kingdom | Petrol | 1.6-litre T-GDi Smartstream | 150 PS (110 kW) | — | 6-speed manual | — | — | [1] |
| 1.6 T-GDi 48V mild hybrid 150 PS | United Kingdom | Mild hybrid | 1.6-litre T-GDi Smartstream with 48-volt mild hybrid | 150 PS (110 kW) | — | 6-speed iMT or 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [1] |
| 1.6 T-GDi 48V mild hybrid 180 PS | United Kingdom | Mild hybrid | 1.6-litre T-GDi Smartstream with 48-volt mild hybrid | 180 PS (132 kW) | — | 6-speed iMT or 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [1] |
| 1.6 T-GDi Hybrid | United Kingdom | Hybrid | 1.6-litre T-GDi with 44.2 kW electric motor, 1.49 kWh battery | 230 PS (169 kW) | — | 6-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| 1.6 T-GDi Plug-in Hybrid | United Kingdom | Plug-in hybrid | 1.6-litre T-GDi with 66.9 kW electric motor, 13.8 kWh battery | 265 PS (195 kW) | 350 Nm (258 lb-ft) | 6-speed automatic | AWD | 2021– | [4] |
| 1.6 CRDi 115 PS | United Kingdom | Diesel | 1.6-litre CRDi Smartstream | 115 PS (85 kW) | — | 6-speed manual | FWD | — | [1] |
| 1.6 CRDi 48V mild hybrid 136 PS | United Kingdom | Mild hybrid | 1.6-litre CRDi Smartstream diesel with 48-volt mild hybrid | 136 PS (100 kW) | — | 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [1] |
| Smartstream 2.5 (North America) | North America | Petrol | 2.5-litre 4-cylinder Smartstream | 187 hp (139 kW) | 178 lb-ft (241 Nm) | — | — | — | [2] |
| Hybrid (North America) | North America | Hybrid | 1.6-litre T-GDi with 44 kW electric motor | 226 hp (169 kW) | 258 lb-ft (350 Nm) | — | — | — | [2] |
| 1.5 T-GDi (China) | China | Petrol | 1.5-litre T-GDi Smartstream | 197 hp (147 kW) | — | 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [2] |
| Smartstream G2.0 MPi | Market not stated | Petrol | 1,999 cc I4 | 156 PS (115 kW) | 192 Nm (142 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual or 6-speed automatic | — | 2021– | [2] |
| Smartstream D2.0 CRDi | Market not stated | Diesel | 1,998 cc turbocharged I4 | 186 PS (137 kW) | 417 Nm (308 lb-ft) | 8-speed automatic | — | — | [2] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Short-wheelbase (2,680 mm) versions are built in the Czech Republic for Europe; Mexico also receives the short-wheelbase car from the Czech Republic (Wikipedia). Long-wheelbase versions (2,755 mm) go to most other markets, including North America and China (Tucson L).
- Wikipedia gives long-wheelbase lengths only as a range (4,630–4,670 mm), so no single length is recorded for the LWB car. US dimensions come only from Wikipedia.
- The Hyundai UK press kit gives luggage figures without naming the measuring standard.
- Hyundai's 2020 UK press kit says the plug-in hybrid would follow early in 2021; the plug-in hybrid release gives 265 PS / 350 Nm with standard four-wheel drive.
- The facelift's European debut was announced for early 2024 (Hyundai Europe release of 21 November 2023). Wikipedia dates the facelift's release to December 2023 for the 2025 model year without naming the market.
Sources
- The all-new Hyundai Tucson (press kit) — Hyundai Motor UK newsroom, 23 December 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Hyundai Tucson — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- New Tucson with more refined and powerful design — Hyundai Motor Europe newsroom, 21 November 2023 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Hyundai Motor reveals details on all-new Tucson Plug-in Hybrid — Hyundai Motor UK newsroom, 10 December 2020 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.