- Design New Cascading Grille, full-LED headlights, raised front bumper, skid plate and new wheel designs.[2]
- Design New tail lights and a redesigned rear bumper and muffler.[2]
- Powertrain A newly developed eight-speed automatic became optional, and all engines met the Euro 6c emission standard.[2]
- Interior Redesigned dashboard with lower central air vents and a high-mounted display.[1]
- Powertrain The manual and dual-clutch transmissions were dropped in favour of the six-speed automatic used before.[1]
Hyundai Tucson · Third generation · production 2015–2021
Hyundai Tucson (TL)
Key facts
| Production | 2015[1] – 2021[1] |
|---|---|
| First shown | 3 March 2015, Geneva Motor Show[1] |
| Sales start | July 2015 (North America)[1] |
| Model years | 2016–2021 (market not stated)[1] |
| Codes | TL model code[1] |
| Names by market | Tucson (All markets)[1] |
| Platform | Not documented here |
| Assembly | Ulsan, South Korea[1] Nošovice, Czech Republic (HMMC)[1] Beijing, China (Beijing Hyundai)[1] Anápolis, Brazil (Hyundai Caoa)[1] Chennai, India (HMIL)[1] Kaliningrad, Russia (Avtotor)[1] Ninh Bình, Vietnam (HTMV)[1] Faisalabad, Pakistan (Hyundai Nishat)[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[1] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive — North America[1] All-wheel drive — North America[1] |
Photos
What changed from the LM
- Dimensions 65 mm longer and 30 mm wider than the second generation, on a 30 mm longer wheelbase.[1]
- Interior Seats-up luggage capacity grew from 465 to 513 litres.[1]
- Safety equipment Lane departure warning, blind spot detection and automatic braking for pedestrians and cars became available.[1]
- Powertrain A dual-clutch automatic transmission and torque vectoring (Hyundai Active Cornering Control) were offered.[1]
- Other The ix35 name was dropped and the model was called Tucson in all markets.[1]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | — | 4,475 mm (176.2 in) | 1,850 mm (72.8 in) | 1,645 mm (64.8 in) | 2,670 mm (105.1 in) | [1] |
| China | — | 4,545 mm (178.9 in) | — | 1,670 mm (65.7 in) | — | [1] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market not stated | — | 2nd row | 513 L | not stated | [1] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gamma II 1.6 GDi | Market not stated | Petrol | 1.6 L Gamma GDi I4 | 132 PS (97 kW) | 161 Nm (119 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | 2015–2020 | [1] |
| Gamma II 1.6 T-GDi | Market not stated | Petrol | 1.6 L Gamma T-GDi I4 | 177 PS (130 kW) | 265 Nm (195 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual or 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [1] |
| Nu 2.0 MPi | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L Nu MPi I4 | 155 PS (114 kW) | 192 Nm (142 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | — | [1] |
| Nu 2.0 GDi | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L Nu GDi I4 | 163 PS (120 kW) | 204 Nm (150 lb-ft) | 6-speed automatic | — | — | [1] |
| Theta II 2.4 MPi | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.4 L Theta II MPi I4 | 176 PS (129 kW) | 228 Nm (168 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | — | [1] |
| 1.7 U II CRDi (116 PS) | Market not stated | Diesel | 1.7 L U II CRDi I4 | 116 PS (85 kW) | 280 Nm (207 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | 2015–2018 | [1] |
| 1.7 U II CRDi (141 PS) | Market not stated | Diesel | 1.7 L U II CRDi I4 | 141 PS (104 kW) | 340 Nm (251 lb-ft) | 7-speed dual-clutch | — | — | [1] |
| 2.0 R II CRDi (136 PS) | Market not stated | Diesel | 2.0 L R II CRDi I4 | 136 PS (100 kW) | 373 Nm (275 lb-ft) | 6-speed manual | — | 2015–2018 | [1] |
| 2.0 GDI (North America) | North America | Petrol | 2.0-litre direct-injection four-cylinder | 164 hp (122 kW) | 151 lb-ft (205 Nm) | 6-speed automatic | — | 2016 model year on | [1] |
| 1.6 turbo (North America) | North America | Petrol | 1.6-litre turbocharged | 175 hp (130 kW) | 195 lb-ft (264 Nm) | 7-speed dual-clutch | — | 2016 model year on | [1] |
| 2.4 GDi (North America, 2019 model year on) | North America | Petrol | 2.4-litre I4 GDi | 181 hp (135 kW) | 175 lb-ft (237 Nm) | — | — | — | [1] |
| 2.0 diesel (186 PS, facelift) | Europe | Diesel | 2.0 diesel | 186 PS (137 kW) | — | 6-speed manual or 8-speed automatic | AWD | 2018– | [2] |
| 1.6 diesel (115 PS, facelift) | Europe | Diesel | 1.6 diesel | 115 PS (85 kW) | — | 6-speed manual | FWD | 2018– | [2] |
| 1.6 diesel (133 PS, facelift) | Europe | Diesel | 1.6 diesel | 133 PS (98 kW) | — | — | — | 2018– | [2] |
| 1.6 GDI (facelift) | Europe | Petrol | 1.6-litre GDI | 132 PS (97 kW) | — | 6-speed manual | FWD | 2018– | [2] |
| 1.6 T-GDI (facelift) | Europe | Petrol | 1.6-litre T-GDI | 177 PS (130 kW) | — | 6-speed manual or 7-speed dual-clutch | — | 2018– | [2] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- Wikipedia gives later local production in Brazil (2017–2023), India (2016–2022) and Pakistan (2020–2025).
- For the 1.6 diesel after the 2018 facelift, Hyundai's release gives 115 PS and 133 PS (98 kW); Wikipedia's table lists 115 PS and 136 PS. The manufacturer figure is recorded.
- Wikipedia's powertrain table does not give markets for most engines, so they are recorded as 'unstated'. The 2018 facelift engines are from Hyundai's European release.
- China received its own alternative facelifts for the 2019 model year (Wikipedia); these are not recorded as separate revisions because no dates are sourced.
- In 2015 Hyundai also showed hybrid and diesel plug-in hybrid concept versions at Geneva; they were concepts and are not recorded.
Sources
- Hyundai Tucson — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- New Hyundai Tucson: worldwide debut at NY International Auto Show — Hyundai Motor UK newsroom, 28 March 2018 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.