XA10 → XA20
Toyota RAV4 (XA10) (1994–2000) compared with its successor, the Toyota RAV4 (XA20) (2000–2005).
Changes stated by the sources
- Dimensions Wheelbases extended by 80 mm; the three- and five-door are 45 mm and 30 mm longer.[1]
- Chassis New platform and new suspension.[1]
- Drivetrain All-wheel drive gained a limited-slip centre differential, with an optional Torsen limited-slip rear differential.[2]
- Powertrain First diesel RAV4 launched in 2002.[2]
- Safety equipment ABS with electronic brake-force distribution and brake assist standard on all models.[1]
- Drivetrain First RAV4 offered without all-wheel drive.[3]
Size
Wheelbase 2,410 → 2,490 mm (+80 mm).
market not stated figures (neither source states the market): 5-door[4] against 5-door[4].
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the XA20 but not the XA10: diesel.
- Powertrain Documented for the XA10 but not the XA20: electric.
- Design Body styles documented for the XA20 only: SUV.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Toyota RAV4 (XA10) First generation | Toyota RAV4 (XA20) Second generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 1994–2000[4] | 2000–2005[4] |
| First shown | 1994[2] | Not documented here |
| Model years | 1996–2000 (NA)[4] | 2001–2005 (NA)[4] |
| Codes | XA10[4] | XA20[4] |
| Platform | Not documented here | Toyota MC platform[4] |
| Body styles | 3-door SUV (hardtop)[4] 5-door SUV (long wheelbase)[4] 3-door soft-top convertible SUV[5] | 3-door SUV[4] 5-door SUV[4] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | AWD[6], FWD[4] | AWD[1], FWD[4] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Electric | Petrol, Diesel |
| Dimensions — market not stated (the sources do not state the market for any of these figures) | ||
| Version compared | 5-door[4] | 5-door[4] |
| Wheelbase | 2,410 mm | 2,490 mm (+80 mm) |
| Luggage capacity | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Highest output documented | 132 kW (179 PS) 2.0 (3S-GE), Japan[4] | 120 kW (163 PS) 2.4 (2AZ-FE), United States[4] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- New RAV4s Take "Stylish and Rugged" Concept to Higher Level — Toyota Motor Corporation, 19 May 2000 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Celebrating The Original: 20 Years Of The Toyota RAV4 — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- RAV4 (1998–2000) — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota Introduces the RAV4―a New-Concept 4X4 — Toyota Motor Corporation, 10 May 1994 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.