XA40 → XA50
Toyota RAV4 (XA40) (2012–2018) compared with its successor, the Toyota RAV4 (XA50) (2018–2025).
Changes stated by the sources
- Chassis Built on the TNGA-K platform.[1]
- Dimensions Wheelbase 1.20 in longer than the previous model, at 105.9 in.[1]
- Chassis Unibody structure 57 percent more rigid.[1]
- Powertrain A new eight-speed automatic replaced the six-speed automatic.[1]
- Drivetrain The all-wheel-drive system sends 30 percent more total torque to the rear wheels than before.[1]
- Powertrain No diesel engine offered.[2]
Size
Width 1,845 → 1,855 mm (+10 mm); Wheelbase 2,660 → 2,690 mm (+30 mm).
market not stated figures (neither source states the market): as published[2] against as published[3].
From the documented specifications
- Powertrain Powertrain types documented for the XA50 but not the XA40: plug-in hybrid.
- Powertrain Documented for the XA40 but not the XA50: diesel.
Derived by comparing the sourced lists on the two generation pages; a type missing from a list may also mean it is not documented here yet.
Side by side
| Item | Toyota RAV4 (XA40) Fourth generation | Toyota RAV4 (XA50) Fifth generation |
|---|---|---|
| Production | 2012–2018[2] | 2018–2025[2] |
| First shown | 28 November 2012[4] | 28 March 2018[5] |
| Model years | 2013–2018 (NA)[2] | 2019–2025 (NA)[2] |
| Codes | XA40[2] | XA50[2] |
| Platform | Toyota New MC platform[2] | TNGA-K (GA-K)[1] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[2] | 5-door SUV[2] |
| Seating | Not documented here | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | FWD[4], AWD[4], AWD[6] | FWD[1], AWD[7], AWD[7] |
| Powertrain types documented | Petrol, Diesel, Hybrid | Petrol, Hybrid, Plug-in hybrid |
| Dimensions — market not stated (the sources do not state the market for any of these figures) | ||
| Version compared | as published[2] | as published[3] |
| Width | 1,845 mm | 1,855 mm (+10 mm) |
| Wheelbase | 2,660 mm | 2,690 mm (+30 mm) |
| Luggage capacity | 38.4 cu ft (1,087 L converted) behind 2nd row, United States, not stated[4] 73.4 cu ft (2,078 L converted) behind 1st row, United States, not stated[4] | 580 L behind 2nd row, Japan, not stated[7] 520 L behind unstated, United Kingdom, not stated, Plug-in Hybrid[8] |
| Highest output documented | 145 kW (197 PS) 2.5 Hybrid, market not stated[2] | 302 hp (225 kW) RAV4 Prime, United States[9] |
Differences in brackets are against the column to the left. Dimensions are compared only for the same market and the standard body; luggage figures are shown with their market and measuring method because they are often not comparable.
Sources
- All-New 2019 Toyota RAV4 Breaks the Mold for the Segment it Created — Toyota USA Newsroom Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New 2013 Toyota RAV4 Makes World Debut at Los Angeles International Auto Show — Toyota USA Newsroom, 28 November 2012 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New 2019 Toyota RAV4 to Make World Debut at New York International Auto Show — Toyota USA Newsroom Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Start Spreading the News: 2016 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Debuts at New York International Auto Show — Toyota USA Newsroom, 2 April 2015 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota Rolls Out All-New RAV4 — Toyota Motor Corporation, 10 April 2019 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- The RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid, Toyota's new Hybrid Flagship — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota Revs Up Lineup with New 302-Horsepower RAV4 Prime — Toyota USA Newsroom, 20 November 2019 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.