- Powertrain The RAV4 Prime plug-in hybrid has 83 hp more total system output than the RAV4 Hybrid.[6]
Toyota RAV4 · Fifth generation · production 2018–2025
Toyota RAV4 (XA50)
Key facts
| Production | November 2018[2] – December 2025[2] |
|---|---|
| First shown | 28 March 2018, New York International Auto Show[3] |
| Sales start | December 2018 (United States)[1] 26 January 2019 (Europe)[4] 10 April 2019 (Japan)[5] 8 May 2019 (Australia)[2] |
| Model years | 2019–2025 (North America)[2] |
| Codes | XA50 model code[2] |
| Names by market | Wildlander (China)[2] Suzuki Across (Europe)[2] RAV4 Prime (North America)[6] RAV4 PHV (Japan)[2] RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid (North America)[2] |
| Platform | TNGA-K (GA-K)[1] |
| Assembly | Takaoka plant, Toyota City, Aichi, Japan[5] Toyota Industries Nagakusa plant, Ōbu, Aichi, Japan[5] TMMC, Woodstock and Cambridge, Ontario, Canada[2] TMMK, Georgetown, Kentucky, US[2] FAW Toyota (Changchun) and GAC Toyota (Guangzhou), China[2] TMMR, Saint Petersburg, Russia[2] |
| Body styles | 5-door SUV[2] |
| Seating | Not documented here |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive — United States[1] All-wheel drive (Dynamic Torque Vectoring AWD) — Japan[5] All-wheel drive (E-Four (hybrid)) — Japan[5] |
Photos
What changed from the XA40
- Chassis Built on the TNGA-K platform.[1]
- Dimensions Wheelbase 1.20 in longer than the previous model, at 105.9 in.[1]
- Chassis Unibody structure 57 percent more rigid.[1]
- Powertrain A new eight-speed automatic replaced the six-speed automatic.[1]
- Drivetrain The all-wheel-drive system sends 30 percent more total torque to the rear wheels than before.[1]
- Powertrain No diesel engine offered.[2]
Facelifts and updates
Dimensions
| Market | Version | Length | Width | Height | Wheelbase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | LE/XLE (pre-facelift); height with antenna | 180.9 in (4,595 mm) | 73.0 in (1,854 mm) | 67.0 in (1,702 mm) | 105.9 in (2,690 mm) | [1] |
| United States | Adventure grade | 181.5 in (4,610 mm) | 73.4 in (1,864 mm) | 68.6 in (1,742 mm) | 105.9 in (2,690 mm) | [1] |
| Market not stated | — | 4,600 mm (181.1 in) | 1,855 mm (73.0 in) | 1,685 mm (66.3 in) | 2,690 mm (105.9 in) | [4] |
Figures are as published by the source for that market and version; widths usually exclude mirrors. Conversions in brackets are ours.
Luggage capacity
| Market | Version | Measured behind | Volume | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japan | — | 2nd row | 580 L | not stated | [5] |
| United Kingdom | Plug-in Hybrid | unstated | 520 L | not stated | [7] |
The source does not say how the volume was measured. Volumes measured by different methods are not comparable.
Powertrains
| Version | Market | Type | Engine / motor | Power | Torque | Transmission | Drive | Years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5 Dynamic Force (US) | United States | Petrol | 2.5 L Dynamic Force I4 | 203 hp (151 kW) | — | 8-speed automatic | — | 2019 model year | [1] |
| RAV4 Hybrid (US) | United States | Hybrid | — | 219 hp (163 kW) | — | eCVT | AWD | 2019 model year | [1] |
| 2.0 (M20A-FKS) | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.0 L M20A-FKS I4 | 126 kW (171 PS) | 203 Nm (150 lb-ft) | — | — | — | [2] |
| 2.5 (A25A-FKS) | Market not stated | Petrol | 2.5 L A25A-FKS I4 | 151 kW (205 PS) | 249 Nm (184 lb-ft) | — | — | — | [2] |
| 2.5 Hybrid | Market not stated | Hybrid | 2.5 L A25A-FXS I4 + electric motors | 163 kW (222 PS) | 279 Nm (206 lb-ft) | — | — | — | [2] |
| RAV4 Prime | United States | Plug-in hybrid | 2.5 L I4 Atkinson + electric motors | 302 hp (225 kW) | — | — | AWD | 2021 model year | [6] |
| RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid (UK) | United Kingdom | Plug-in hybrid | 2.5 L I4 + electric motors | 225 kW (306 PS) | — | — | — | — | [7] |
Power is shown in the unit the source uses first (kW, metric PS or SAE hp), with our conversion in brackets. A blank cell means the source does not state it.
Notes
- US petrol output: Toyota USA states 203 hp; Wikipedia's engine table gives 151 kW (202 hp). The manufacturer figure is kept for the US record.
- Plug-in hybrid names: RAV4 Prime (North America until MY2025, then RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid), RAV4 PHV (Japan, later RAV4 Z), Suzuki Across (Europe). Wildlander is the GAC Toyota version in China.
- German Wikipedia's 2.0 litre displacement (1987 cm³) differs from English Wikipedia's 1,986 cc.
Sources
- All-New 2019 Toyota RAV4 Breaks the Mold for the Segment it Created — Toyota USA Newsroom Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- All-New 2019 Toyota RAV4 to Make World Debut at New York International Auto Show — Toyota USA Newsroom Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota RAV4 — Wikipedia (de) Reference work (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota Rolls Out All-New RAV4 — Toyota Motor Corporation, 10 April 2019 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- Toyota Revs Up Lineup with New 302-Horsepower RAV4 Prime — Toyota USA Newsroom, 20 November 2019 Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
- The RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid, Toyota's new Hybrid Flagship — Toyota (GB) media site Manufacturer (read 9 October 2026)
Wikipedia sources link to the exact revision that was read. Specifications differ between markets, years and versions; each figure is shown with the market and version its source states.